I am from…

I am from the water,
From the TV and the lights.
I am from a cozy couch.
I am from the tomatoes in the backyard
The giant fern
whose long gone leafs
as if they were my own.
I’m from traveling to China and working hard,
from my mom and Michael.
I’m from hiking and speaking Chinese,
and from exercising daily.
I’m from “don’t cuss” and study hard
and the “ABC’s”.
I’m from eating mooncakes on the Mid Autumn Festival.
I’m from New York and China.
From Michael getting stuck on the ski slope,
that I also had trouble with.
A 2000 piece puzzle
on the wall.

Print Friendly, PDF & Email

4 thoughts on “I am from…”

  1. I really like your poem. It seems to have a variety to what it’s about and switching to very different parts of your life.

  2. Your poem speaks, like it shows how even not being in china; you are still there. The poem also shows all the aspects of your life, what you do in your free time.

  3. Hey Vincent, I liked how your poem painted a vivid picture without having to use extreme vocab. You can really relate to the don’t cuss phase and the couch. Just look over the giant fern part because it was a little choppy and was missing conjunctions. Just a thought.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *